Growing My Circle in the Blackjack Community

This week I met Chris from the podcast driven blog Faces and Aces Las Vegas.  He was putting together his most recent podcast as he planned a segment on the increasing prevalence of 6:5 blackjack tables.  As luck would have it I’ve been railing on this for months and Chris was tipped off by Vegas Fanboy.

I was happy with my segment at the end of the podcast, but honestly the conversation with Dr. Timothy Fong, co-director of the UCLA gambling studies program was the highlight of the hour.

My segment was roughly 10 minutes, but the real fun was the 45 minutes talking blackjack after we finished the segment.  All of my friends are sick of hearing me talk Vegas and blackjack so finding someone who shared my passion for both was refreshing.

I know there is a strong blackjack, gaming and Vegas community out there and over the past couple of years I’ve been fortunate enough to make a few good connections along the way.  Even though I play a fairly solitary style I do appreciate the camaraderie that comes with a group of people who share the same interests.  I think it makes me a better player and it makes my hobby more enjoyable to be able to compare notes and share stories.

As I’ve said over the years I’m proud to be a blackjack player and I’m excited to continue as an active part of this community for years to come.

2 thoughts on “Growing My Circle in the Blackjack Community

  1. Chris Kim says:

    I enjoyed having you on the show. I’m in the same position, where I can talk blackjack/Las Vegas for hours. Unfortunately my circle of friends don’t share my passion. It’s always fun meeting like minded people. You’re welcome on the show anytime you have anything to share. I’m toying around with the idea of a ‘blackjack corner’ part of the podcast where you and I discuss all the different angles of blackjack (etiquette, betting strategies, tipping, double deck vs 6 deck, optimum # of players, etc…). Could be fun! In any case, I’m thankful to VegasFanboy for the suggestion and look forward to more conversations down the road.

Leave a Reply

