Tips for Blackjack Success at CES

CES is the annual collision of my real job and my fantasy of having a career in blackjack.  Historically I’ve had great meetings and very productive trips for business while my blackjack results have been less than stellar.

Last year’s results were particularly poor with my largest loss for a single trip.  In my constant quest to improve my game I took at look at last year’s post to see what went wrong.  It was a combination of errors that compounded to create a large loss.

To improve this year I’m focusing on 3 areas of improvement:

  1. Time management
  2. Alcohol intake
  3. Group play

Time management is probably the hardest of the three.  The CES schedule is tight and with so many people in town things always take much longer than you expect so I often end up rushing to fit in blackjack wherever I can.  This year I will try to resist jumping on a table simply because I have a free 15 minutes.

Alcohol is flowing even more freely than usual at CES and with happy hours and dinners it is easy to quickly go beyond your limit.  It’s never a good idea to drink and gamble and I know that last year I didn’t manage this well.  This year I’ll focus on drinking less at business events and staying away from the tables if I have that extra drink at happy hour.

Networking and catching up with industry friends is the best part of CES.  Playing blackjack with friends is a fun way to build strong friendships so I like to do it, however it usually isn’t a formula for winning.  This year my strategy is to play small ball low-limit blackjack when playing with friends so that if I do lose it hopefully won’t make a major dent in the overall results.

Hopefully by employing these three strategies in addition to playing my system when I can find optimal conditions will create a winning CES trip for business and blackjack.

2 thoughts on “Tips for Blackjack Success at CES

  1. One of the most important rules I teach is, stay away from alcohol if you are looking to make money. Poker is a great game to play while socializing with friends, but if you wish to ever gain more than you put on the table, you have to avoid the drink!

    Hopefully this year will be different than last. I’m rooting for you!

Leave a Reply

